Raw Cashew Yogurt Parfait with Sprouted Buckwheat

All I have to say is: nom nom nom.

Aside from the lengthy time it takes to sprout buckwheat, this recipe is very simple and totally delicious. Not to mention, sprouted buckwheat has tons of great health benefits. It is gluten-free and wheat-free, and high in protein. It is high in lecithin, which can lower cholesterol, high in rutin, which strengthens veins, high in iron, brain-boosting, colon-cleansing, and all sorts of other great things which you can read about here.

HOW TO SPROUT BUCKWHEAT:

What You Need:

  • Buckwheat
  • Fine Mesh Colander
  • Water

STEP 1: Soak Buckwheat in Water

Place the buckwheat in to a bowl and fill it with water, about an inch above the buckwheat. Stir once or twice while it is soaking.

You can soak it anywhere from 1 to 12 hours. I soaked mine for 3 hours and it worked perfectly.

STEP 2: Rinse & Drain

After soaking, the buckwheat will start to make this slimy liquid. Place the buckwheat in to the colander and rinse thoroughly with cold water.

Then place a bowl underneath the colander and buckwheat to catch any liquid that drips down.

STEP 3: Continue for 2-3 Days

Rinse the buckwheat in cold water 2-3 times a day for 2-3 days, until you start to see little white “tails” growing. I rinsed mine 3 times a day for 2 days and it definitely sprouted!

RAW CASHEW YOGURT PARFAIT RECIPE:

Once you have sprouted the buckwheat, you can start on the rest of the recipe! And if you have any buckwheat left over, you can always mix it in to some Oatmeal or cereal.

Ingredients (For 2 Parfaits):

  • 1 Cup Cashews
  • 1/2 Cup – 1 Cup Water
  • 3 Dates (don’t forget to take the pits out!)
  • 2/3 Cup Sprouted Buckwheat
  • 1 Cup Fruit

Soaking cashews & dates

Soak the cashews and dates in a bowl with room temperature water for 10-15 minutes (this is mainly for people with weak blenders, myself included).

Drain the water from the cashews and dates. Place the dates and cashews into the blender. Add about 1/2 cup of water. Start on a low setting and blend. Add more water as needed, up to 1 cup total for water in to the yogurt. Once you have the desired consistency (should be a thick paste), blend an extra 1-2 minutes.

Now, split the cashew yogurt between 2 bowls, add 1/3 cup buckwheat (more if desired) to each bowl, and then 1/2 cup fruit to each bowl. And ta-da! You have a tasty raw yogurt parfait!

Ideas For Fruit:

-Oranges, Green Apple, Banana

-Apple, Figs, and Dried Raisins

-Papaya with a squeeze of Lime

-Persimmons and Banana

-Blueberries and Rasberries

11 thoughts on “Raw Cashew Yogurt Parfait with Sprouted Buckwheat

  1. It looks so pretty! I LOVE blending Dates, almonds, a banana, soy or almond milk, w/some greek yogurt. I know it sounds crazy, but I actually think it tastes a little oaty….

    • Thanks! Yes, dates are amazing! And I love greek yogurt, but I recently realized I am lactose intolerant. Coconut yogurt though I have discovered is the next best thing. I might just have to try a date/banana/coconut yogurt blend :).

      • I’ve never heard about Coconut Yogurt! I’ll check it out. I too am lactose intolerant… but that’s just because I’m Asian, hehe 🙂

  2. Hi Teresa,

    Another interesting recipe I must admit, especially the sprouting of the buckwheat! I’m just curious, are you vegan or vegetarian? I know there’s alot of labeling when it comes to this and I was just wondering where you see yourself.

    I’m curious about why you use raw cashews compared to roasted? Texture or taste difference? health benefits? Plus, I didn’t know they made coconut yogurt…I’ll have to check that out also.

    I’m very glad that you are posting these recipes, because it definately helps me see a different perspective of food that I normally don’t work with.

    Thanks,

    • Hey Jim!

      Hm. It actually is hard to categorize how I eat. Basically, I really enjoy vegan, vegetarian, and raw food.

      I was vegetarian and then vegan for a while, with the occasional fish, but in the past year and a half, I started eating chicken, turkey, and fish more regularly. I still don’t eat it all that often, and I almost never prepare it.

      I don’t consume any dairy products straight- I never touch cheese (except for the occasional goat cheese.. but I like vegan substitute cheese, like Diayah cheese better anyway) and never drink milk straight. If there are products that have been made with milk, like bread or something, I’m not picky. I do wish I could eat yogurt and ice cream, but I recently realized I’m lactose intolerant. 😦

      That was the long answer!

      I’m no scientists, but from what I’ve read is that raw cashews are healthier and have more nutrients. Whenever you cook food, the heat kills some of the nutrients inside, which is the basic idea behind raw food.

      Heres a small article on how raw cashews are better: http://www.greenlemonade.com/cleanse-your-body/benefits-raw-nuts-roasted-nuts/

      • Hey Teresa,

        Thanks for getting back with me about your eating habits, it definately helps me understand your decisions on what foods you are sharing on here. I know there’s all different varieties of Vegetarians/Vegans/etc. and that’s why I asked. It’s amazing working in restaurants to hear what some people will eat/not eat and all of the different food allergies that are out there now. My sister in law loves dairy, but when she became pregnant with my nephew Rio, she became lactose intolerant because the baby was. That was a first of hearing this for me, I’m not sure if it’s common or not.

        The only reason I had asked about raw or roasted cashews is I was wondering your preference. You’re definately correct on the heat killing nutrients in food, I was more intetresting in the flavor? Have you ever tried it with roasted cashews? Just curious.

Leave a Reply

