The Perfect Yam

Snagged this picture from Urban Acres

I am obsessed with yams. When I was in high school, I ate so many that I actually turned orange (if only that were a joke…)

But I recently found the next best thing from your traditional orange yam: the Japanese Sweet Potato. These lovely purple-skinned sweet potatoes are the sweetest, most delicious thing ever. And they don’t even need any seasoning or toppings– they are great by themselves.

What You’ll Need:

  • Japanese Sweet Potato
  • Tin Foil
  • Coconut Oil
  • Knife

STEP 1: Preheat Oven

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

STEP 2: Prepare Sweet Potato

Rinse off the sweet potato and wipe of excess water with a paper towel. Cover the potato in coconut oil (I tend to use my hands) and spread some coconut oil on the tin foil as well.

Make sure to puncture the potato with a knife about 4-5 times so that it can steam.

Wrap it up completely in the foil.

STEP 3: Bake

Let it sit in the oven for about 45 minutes to 1 hour (depending on size of potato). Check it periodically by sticking a knife in the potato; if it goes all the way to the center with ease, then your sweet potato is done!

Simple. Yummy. Healthy.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Yam

  1. Nice and simple, that’s some of the best ways to cook food 🙂 The only thing I would do differently myself is sprinkle some fleur de sel on the potato after applying the oil. I know what you’re thinking, here’s a Chef saying to use salt LOL.. Well actually I use only enough salt to enhance the flavor. I’ve worked with some chefs that their foods taste like a salt lick because they over season.

Leave a Reply

